top of page

Experiences and Gratitude at the OIST Symposium


A screenshot of an Instagram story featuring Kana giving her keynote to the audience.

Heartfelt thanks to C-Hub at the Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology for inviting me as a keynote speaker at their annual symposium. Participating as a panelist on minority identities was another enriching experience. The event was remarkable, and the positive feedback from the audience was exceptionally encouraging.

 

I'm profoundly grateful to everyone who approached me to express their appreciation for my talk and encouraged me to engage in more public speaking. Additionally, thank you for extending invitations to your future events after the symposium. Despite the hectic schedule and limited networking opportunities, I was fortunate to establish some meaningful connections during those intense few days.

 

In my mind, the image that symbolizes the positive feedback on my keynote is a vivid memory: a big smile and two thumbs up from the US Consul General in Okinawa. Furthermore, the conversations following my presentations transformed a respected diplomat into a cherished friend. As this example illustrates, my memories are more visual than verbal; I recall those who interacted with me during the Q&A and those who approached me afterward as if replaying a video. You know who you are—thank you.


A photo of the view from OIST Lab 4

In my reflection, I expressed how touching it was to see the value people found in hearing about my personal stories. I noted that openness and vulnerability, when shared in an appropriate context, often lead to positive outcomes - drawing people closer and even encouraging them to share their stories spontaneously. I also pointed out the importance of choosing the right moment and audience for such disclosures. I am careful to share my experiences only with those who have genuinely shown interest and thus have earned the privilege of hearing them. As Brené Brown points out, vulnerability necessitates setting boundaries.

 

Overall, the symposium left me in awe of the incredible experiences and opportunities it presented.


A photograph displaying the screen showcasing the symposium title alongside profiles of keynote speakers.

23 views0 comments
bottom of page