top of page

Dr. Kana Grace's March 2024 Keynote at OIST: "Breaking the Silence: Understanding and Embracing Neurodivergence in Society"



I'm thrilled to announce that the recording of my keynote speech at the international symposium held at the Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology (OIST) is now accessible on YouTube. My sincere gratitude to the OIST staff for their dedicated efforts in recording and editing the session. https://t.ly/Y7jhh

 

In this keynote, I speak from the heart, sharing my perspectives as a researcher, advocate, and, most importantly, as someone with lived experience of neurodivergence and connective tissue disorders. While some may claim to fully understand these realities, I emphasize that living with these experiences is distinct from merely grasping them intellectually.

 

My keynote, titled “Breaking the Silence: Understanding and Embracing Neurodivergence in Society,” explored the daily challenges faced by neurodivergent people, including myself. I shared personal experiences, supported by the latest scientific findings, and proposed how individuals, organizations, and society can help alleviate these difficulties. The presentation highlighted the often-overlooked challenges of invisible disabilities and the critical role of language. The session included a Q&A segment, where we engaged in thoughtful discussions and gained further insights.

 

 

7 views0 comments
bottom of page